ORGANS OF PARIS 2.0 © Vincent Hildebrandt HOME S-Z
The organ of St. Michael's Church was built by the
Austrian firm Rieger in 1923. It was originally
installed in the lounges of the Majestic Hotel in
Paris. In 1936, the hotel became the property of the
state, which housed the Ministry of War there. The
organ was then dismantled and bought by the
parish of Saint-Michel. It is not known who
transferred the instrument.
In 1975, Gutschenritter worked on the instrument
and took the opportunity to replace the pneumatic
traction in electro-pneumatic traction. He also
replaced all the reeds.
This instrument is almost unique in France, in its
style that combines the salon organ with the cinema
In 2013, an electronic combinator was installed
during maintenance works.